Press release and press conference invitation

From: #Протестирам (#Protestiram)

Skopje, 13 May 2015


All doubts are now cast: a self-organised citizens’ movement on the rise will defeat the unjust and dehumanised regime! The dominos have started falling! Yesterday, May 12, Prime Minister Nikola Gruevski accepted the resignations of Minister of Interior Gordana Jankuloska, Minister of Transport and Communications Mile Janakieski, and the Director of the Security and Counterintelligence Agency, Sasho Mijalkov.

These resignations are a victory for the people and further encouragement that the actions of #Протестирам have been bringing about changes for the better.

We will not end here! A skin-deep government reconstruction or mere replacement of positions of one corrupt elite with another will not help to overcome the systemic crisis that Macedonia and its citizens face. Therefore, we will be on the streets, every day at 18:00h, until all of our three demands are met:

1) Urgent resignation and political and legal responsibility of the entire government led by Nikola Gruevski for unconstitutional, corrupt, and unethical rule;

2) Urgent release of all activists detained since 5 May onwards;

3) Formation of a government to democratise the institutions and to make fair and democratic elections possible.


In response to the recent resignations, #Протестирам would like to invite all media representatives to a press conference at 13:00 in front of the Assembly of the Republic of Macedonia.

We invite all citizens of Macedonia to take to the streets in greater numbers and decisively join the protests, every day at 18:00 in front of the Government of the Republic of Macedonia. This is only the beginning! Together, united in the spirit of solidarity, justice and peace, we stand at the forefront of freedom. Stronger than ever, we continue onwards! Join us!


We shall prevail!




Contact person: Biljana Ginova, 071 730 881

Official sources of information: | twitter: @protestiram | FB: Протестирам


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *